President’s Council on Sustainability

Committee Charge

The President’s Council on Sustainability has a critical role in shaping administrative goals and objectives relating to campus sustainability. The PCS is charged with the creation of a five-year plan and making recommendations on sustainability issues and policy, developing strategies for implementation of sustainability initiatives, and providing a cohesive public face for UMW sustainability efforts. The council will report regularly to the President’s Cabinet outlining recommendations and the university’s progress.

The council will advise and assist in the development of goals in these four action areas: Administration and Finance, Education and Research, Operation, and Innovation and Awareness. The PCS will meet monthly throughout the academic year. Members need to make a significant commitment to sustainability work as each person will participate in additional action groups that undertake projects outside the monthly meetings.

Committee Membership

The committee consists of the following members:

  • Erma Baker, Assistant Vice President for Business Services
  • Eric Bonds, Assistant Professor of Sociology
  • Kevin Caffrey, Senior Associate Registrar
  • Antonio Causarano, Assistant professor, College of Education
  • Kathryn Erwin, Class of 2016
  • Bianca Faison, Student Success Coordinator
  • Sam Fortier, Class of 2016
  • Bethany Friesner, Associate Director of Residence Life
  • Jenifer Grove, Class of 2018
  • Dan Hubbard, Associate Professor, College of Business
  • Morgan James, Class of 2017
  • Jeremy Larochelle, Associate Professor of Modern Foreign Languages
  • Margaret Magliato, Class of 2017
  • Laura Mentore, Assistant Professor of Sociology and Anthropology
  • Sean Morris, Class of 2018
  • Megan O’Connell, Class of 2017
  • Beatrice Ohene-Okae, Class of 2017
  • Maura Slocum, Class of 2016
  • Andrea Smith, Associate Professor for Historic Preservation
  • Darryl Sullivan, Director of Utilities Management
  • Melanie Szulczewski, Associate Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • Joni Wilson, Director of Landscaping and Grounds