Technology Advisory Council

Council Charge
The Technology Advisory Council (PTAC) is charged with advising the President and the Cabinet on matters relating to academic technologies, information resources, and libraries.  The Council provides important advice and counsel to assist the University in meeting important goals of the Strategic Plan.  It works in collaboration with the University Libraries, the Division of Teaching and Learning Technologies (DTLT), the Department of Information Technologies (IT), and the UMW Teaching Center and helps create the conditions for cultural transformation envisioned by the Discussion Group on Technologies and Libraries in its report to the Strategic Planning Committee.

The PTAC website contains meeting minutes, agenda information, and other relevant information.

Committee Members
The committee consists of the following members:

  • Rosemary Arneson, University Librarian
  • Hall Cheshire, Interim CIO
  • Leanna Giancarlo, Chair/Associate Professor
  • Steve Greenlaw, Professor
  • James Groom, Director, Teaching and Learning Technologies
  • Mary Kayler, Director, Teaching Excellence and Innovation
  • Shelley Keith, Director of Digital Communications
  • Kim Kinsley, Assistant Professor
  • Jeffrey McClurken, Chair/Professor & PTAC Chair
  • George Meadows, Professor
  • Erik Nosar, Student Representative
  • Jerry Slezak, Director of IT Support Services
  • Matt Troutman, Associate Director of Residence Life
  • Zach Whalen, Assistant Professor